Kaarin Goodburn awarded MBE for services to the food industry (14 June 2008)

Kaarin Goodburn, CFA Secretary General, has been awarded an MBE for services to the food industry in the Queen’s 2008 Birthday Honours List published today.

With a background in biochemistry, applied molecular biology and food science, Kaarin has worked with CFA since its launch in 1989, much of the time as a consultant to the Association. She is responsible for the development of CFA, its policies, activities and relationships with members, Government and the media.

Kaarin is a member of numerous expert working groups and committees in the UK and internationally, and a Board member of a wide range of research projects and organisations.

Commenting on her award Kaarin said: “This award is quite a surprise and a great honour recognising not only my work personally but also the standing and positive contribution of CFA in public life.”

For further information visit www.kaaringoodburn.com. A photograph (JPEG) of Kaarin Goodburn is available on request.

1. Kaarin Goodburn B.Sc. M.Sc is a Chartered Scientist, Fellow of the Institute of Food Science and Technology, Member of the International Association for Food Protection, Member of the Society for Applied Microbiology, and Member of Society of Food Hygiene Technology.

2. Membership of Boards and Committees:
2008-present: FAO/WHO Expert Group on Leafy Green Vegetables and Herbs
2006-present: Food Standards Agency VP/MAP Working Group
2006-2007: DEFRA FISS Champions Group on Waste
2006-present: DEFRA Lean Manufacture Project Board
2006-present: DEFRA/Imperial College Waste Arisings PhD Board
2005-2008: LINK/IFR/CFA Pathogen Attachment Project Board
2005-present: Northern Foods Certification Body Governing Board
2004-present: Food Standards Agency Industry Stakeholders Forum
2003-2007: DEFRA Sustainable Food and Farming Research Priorities Group
2002-present: University of Salford HACCP MSc/Diploma Advisory Board
2001-present: Food Industry Panels Group (Sec 2001-3, Chairman 2003-)
1991-present: European Chilled Food Federation
1991-present: BSI Refrigerator Standards Committee
1990-present: UK Microwave Working Party

14 June 2008